Rose Hill Plantation was originally part of a patent for 750 acres granted to Colonel Thomas Dew in 1643. At Dew's death, Daniel Pew, Sr. purchased the entire tract. The land then passed to Pugh's son, and he in turn, left 450 acres to his mother and his three sisters. One of the sisters, Mary Pugh, married an Anglican clergyman, Reverend John Reid, around 1800. One of their daughters married Captain Edward Allen. For many years, Rose Hill was known as the Allen Place, though the name of Reid's Wharf survived.
Tradition holds that there was once a grand plantation house near the site of the present day River Point Condominiums and that the British destroyed it when they attacked Suffolk in 1779. A more modest home at another spot supposedly became the main residence at the time. The house was remodeled in 1880, again in 1910, and was made into a two-family apartment in 1940.
During much of the twentieth century, it was known as the Hurff home. A long avenue of cedars once ran from the home the the present day Seaboard Depot. In the restored depot, the model of Suffolk shows the house as it was in 1907. Kingboro Heights suburb eventually surrounded the house in the early 1900's.
The two houses that will he open, along with the four condominiums, the Civil War bunkers and the Allen family cemetery are all located on the original Rose Hill Plantation property. This historical information presented here is from "Suffolk in 1843" by Fillmore Norfleet.